Eating Gluten-free made huge headlines last year. There are a lot of reasons why some people, who despite not being intolerant to gluten, decide to eliminate it from their diets. The reasons range from it being a healthier choice to weight loss to fighting inflammation. As with most aspects of nutrition, there is no right or wrong and healthy does not start nor end with eating gluten. But if you’re curious about a gluten-free diet or are already on one and need help; we’re bringing you the ultimate guide to living gluten-free in the city.


Starting with, What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein that is found in grains, more specifically in wheat. It acts as the glue that holds the food together.

Gluten-Free Cookie Cup by Baked, Sold at Gourmet Egypt

Which Foods Contain Gluten?

  • Baked goods
  • Barley
  • Bread
  • Bulgur
  • Cereals
  • Couscous
  • Malt
  • Noodles (except rice noodles)
  • Pasta
  • Rye
  • Sauces (those which contain flour)
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Wheat

If you’re avoiding gluten, it’s important to check the ingredient list on any food you consume.



Does eating GF really mean you will never have a piece of bread again? Absolutely not! Gluten-free bread come in all shapes and sizes, and if you’re not big on making your own you can find it here in Cairo at the following places;

Be Good Today (Baked)

Below is a list of the places you can find gluten-free bread in Cairo:


As with bread, there is an array of GF pasta that is made with either rice or lentils. You can find a couple of brands sold at Gourmet Egypt.


If you’re looking to make your own bread, bake GF goods or even get innovative in the kitchen there are many substitutes to wheat flour you can use.

Gluten-Free Baked Goods at Sea Salt Bakery

The following are GF flours you can eat on a gluten-free diet:

  • Almond Flour
  • Buckwheat Flour
  • Chickpea Flour
  • Coconut Flour
  • Corn Flour or Cornmeal
  • GF Oat Flour
  • Quinoa Flour
  • Rice Flour (white or brown)



The common belief is that GF means grain-free. The reality is that there are many grains that are naturally GF.

Be Good To You (Quinoa & Eggs)

The following are GF grains you can eat on a gluten-free diet:

  • Amaranth
  • Beans
  • Buckwheat
  • Chia
  • Corn
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free oats
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sorghum


Eating out?

While eating out can be a challenge in some places, your safest option is usually a protein with salad and vegetables – you have to double check that there’s no bread added.

Or you can always choose to eat out at a health-conscious place that offers gluten-free options.
Below is a list of several places in Cairo that serve innovative gluten-free meals:

Poke Bowl at Lyfe